Gamer conference in June

I recently had an abstract accepted for the conference “Under the Mask: Perspectives on the Gamer” at the University of Bedfordshire in June. I am really looking forward to this event, and the themes described at the website fit very nicely with my interests. Judging from the list of members of the Facebook group, it looks like mostly Brits are going to participate – but hopefully I won’t end up being the only one there speaking funny English.🙂

My paper for this conference will deal with some of the theoretical considerations of my PhD project. I want to discuss the benefits and limitations of adapting literary theory – especially Paul Ricoeur’s theories on mimesis, narrative and identity – in order to understand the nature of the creative process of gamers producing, exchanging and negotiating narratives around the game.

2 thoughts on “Gamer conference in June

Leave a Reply

